you-not-funny

fishAs those of you who listen to our podcast will know, I have recently finished Deathspank. Deathspank is a cracking little game, which distinguishes itself by being genuinely laugh out loud funny. And it occurred to me for a media that is pretty much entirely about having fun, how little humour there actually is in games in general.

I mean when you look at other media like TV and films, they take comedy so muchdeathspank_boxart_wide more seriously. Whereas comedy games make up a pretty small section of the games made, with pretty much just Tell Tale games consistently funny games.

Don’t get me wrong I don’t think that every game we play should constantly have jokes in them, however TV and film learnt a long time ago that humour can be used in even the most serious dramas to good effect. After all it is human nature to make light of the most dangerous and complex situations.

126_qjpreviewthI think this particularly applies to mmo’s, where even the more light hearted of the mmo’s, like WoW for instance, have the odd amusing item but nothing outright funny. Humm maybe that is one of the reasons I like Age of Conan, in the conversational quests there is usually an option to be an ass, which can be fairly funny, though far from laugh out loud.

I guess it must be pretty difficult to write an entire game that is consistently funny. Hell an entire sitcom series is only 7 or 8 hours of jokes, which is not that much really, considering that a full game (for instance a Tell Tale game like Monkey Island) is closer to 12 or 13 hours.

I guess what I am saying is that a fun thing like a game should try and be fun inTales_of_Monkey_Island_Logo every aspect and that a bit of humour can work well in pretty much every situation. I can see this improving as more and more games are using proper writers, and I have already seen small aspects of humour in games like God of War 3 and Bad Company 2. Is it too much to ask for a game that puts a smile on my face?

MakeMeLaugh

